Allen's Garden Tips

Home Style Garden Plans

Walkway To Birdbath Areas Almost Completed

Leave a comment

This is The Bottom Pond in our 5 Falls Pond.

This is The Bottom Pond in our 5 Falls Pond.

This Walk Way is right outside the East Side of the Green House

This Walk Way is right outside the East Side of the Green House

This Walk Way needed to go over a Rock Ledge, It turned out fine.

This Walk Way needed to go over a Rock Ledge, It turned out fine.

This is the 3 way split in the walk way to go to the top of the Garden area, or go west to the green House, or East to the Water Falls.

This is the 3 way split in the walk way to go to the top of the Garden area, or go west to the green House, or East to the Water Falls.

Love this view of the walk to the green house.

Love this view of the walk to the green house.

I have so many projects going on, one of them is a walkway to all the birdbaths, and the free brick that I receive recently, came in handy, Thanks again Hagerstown Block Company in Hagerstown, MD.

We have 3 Birdbaths beside the 5 tier fountain to maintain. I hate to drag the hose to each one. it always get’s caught, but you need to change the water or deal with the bugs that bite like mosquito’s.

Either way, I had to build the walk on a hill. due to the rock ledge that I couldn’t brake off. It took Great shape, went right over the ledge, and I was able to connect it to a set a steps I had previously built. You can see the sand I used to fill in the cracks and to help it settle in place. I’ve had two rains so far, so the sand has settled nicely. Put sand on every time the rain comes until all cracks are filled.

As you leave the Green House, I’m currently building, the walkway goes about 30 feet to the first birdbath, then over another 30 feet to the waterfalls. The birds love the water, and the fish that’s in the pond, love what the birds knock off the side of the rocks. I try not to feed the fish, however the fish always end up in the bottom, deepest, pond area, they swim right over the falls down stream, so I have to feed them or we would lose them.

Had a Great Day today, love all the Veggies my wife and I picked today. Cucumbers, Squash, Tomatoes, Beans, and all the herbs and mints I need right now.

Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, Sage, & Thyme, lavender, Apple Mint and Spearmint just to name a few we have here in the back half. Soon I’ll harvest those herbs and dry them to have for this winter, I’ve tried to freeze them in Ice Cubes, works ok for some things, but I like the Dried better for cooking. Plus… the dried looks better when it rehydrates in soups, the frozen look a little, well, slimy, to say the least.

Well Enjoy your Garden or if you don’t have one, go visit a neighbor who does, they probably  would like to share all the work they have done.

Remember to Plant a little Green to give us a big Blue. Planting Trees gives us
Oxygen.

 

Author: markallen03

I am a Gardner that likes to figure ways to recycle just about everything. I like to find Free or low cost Items to use in my Garden plans. I Love to share the Garden with my Friends and Neighbors, as well as Family.

Leave a comment