Allen's Garden Tips

Home Style Garden Plans

I Want to Make Your Day!

Leave a comment

Well the talk about winter seems to be everywhere, however it’s still Fall around here.

FALL COLORS

FALL COLORS

As many of you know, if you’ve planted those Fall Veggies out, Take Care, Mr. Frost is right around the corner.

Some tips, If you have planted Garlic cloves, keep them mulched down during winter. It’s good to let the “Green Tops” of the Garlic exposed, but cover all the ground around them, If you plant Garlic in the Fall, you can Harvest them in the spring, late spring in some areas, they will be Bold and Beautiful and full of Flavor.

I have Green Beans growing now, a fall crop requires some extra care. With the Extra plastic left over from the New Green House Remodel, I have made a Cold Frame to put around the Green Beans. I know that there are a lot of people that say, NO WAY, to the fall crop of Green Beans, but they produce beans in about 35 days, I already have flowers and small beans just after 4 weeks of planting.

These Green Beans are almost ready to fruit, see the blooms, a couple more sunny days and I'll have a harvest in October.

These Green Beans are almost ready to fruit, see the blooms, a couple more sunny days and I’ll have a harvest in October.

I Love Salsa, so does my Wife and Friends, so I have a bed of Cilantro, Radish bed and Loads of Tomatoes, Jalapeno Peppers are annuals here in my zone 6 area, but put them in pots and move them to the Green House for a Year Round crop, after all they will live for years if taken care of, I have had 1 plant live 3 seasons by keeping it potted in the Green House during the winter season. Let’s not forget the Lemon Juice from my own trees!

These Jalapeno's will be Great in Salsa. Potted and in the Green House for this winters harvest.

These Jalapeno’s will be Great in Salsa. Potted and in the Green House for this winters harvest.

These Blooms are so sweet, lemons and limes make the winter in the Green House a sweet place to be when it snows.

These Blooms are so sweet, lemons and limes make the winter in the Green House a sweet place to be when it snows.

Yesterday I didn’t get my blog out, I spent the day putting that plastic skin on my new Green House. I know most of you are tired of me telling you about this project, however, 1 more day and I will be finished, which will make my Wife Happy as well. Oh Yes, I’m still looking for that wood stove I’ve been asking about, still no one in the western Maryland area offering me a good used Wood Stove to sell. I have looked in several post, ads, e-bay, craigslist, and so on…..any ideas anyone, I can’t afford a new one or the cost of electric heat, who can?

Back Wall, north, of Green House waiting for it's window to be installed.

Back Wall, north, of Green House waiting for it’s window to be installed.

East Wall of New Green House with Plastic installed.

East Wall of New Green House with Plastic installed.

Front View of New Green House with Plastic on Half

Front View of New Green House with Plastic on Half

Back to the tips,

Lettuce, spinach, broccoli, cabbage, all do well in cool weather, so have fun and plant them now. My wife and I had a Great Salad last night using these veggies, Fresh from the Garden, and it’s October! Next Month I should have Carrots, I already have radishes.

Carrots are wonderful, why not include them in the fruits of my labor this winter.

Carrots are wonderful, why not include them in the fruits of my labor this winter.

Still picking up Black Walnuts and Hickory Nuts from the yard, got to get to them before the varmints do. I like chocolate chip cookies with walnuts, and my wife loves hickory nut cake, it reminds her of her childhood, and if you have tried to purchase these nuts recently, at $5.99 a pound, it pays to pick them up and harvest them yourself. It’s only a little work to get a harvest worth it’s weight in, well, silver, can’t say Gold anymore…..

Well everyone, Have a Great Day and stay tuned for more to come..

Author: markallen03

I am a Gardner that likes to figure ways to recycle just about everything. I like to find Free or low cost Items to use in my Garden plans. I Love to share the Garden with my Friends and Neighbors, as well as Family.

Leave a comment